Close X

San Francisco Wrongful Death Attorney - Michael Rehm - (415) 230-2346

San Francisco Wrongful Death Lawyer 

 Michael Rehm - (415) 230-2346


 When a negligent act causes a fatality, California law permits the victim's family to make a claim for wrongful death. In San Francisco, wrongful death victims include people who are killed in traffic accidents. Pedestrians, motorcyclists, bicyclists, drivers, and passengers — including Uber and Lyft passengers — are victims of wrongful death.

Despite the city's announcement of a Vision Zero plan to end traffic accident deaths, the rate of fatal accidents on San Francisco streets is increasing. After a brief decline, traffic accident deaths are almost as common as they were before the Vision Zero plan took effect in 2015.

Wrongful Death Lawyer Michael Rehm can help families understand the California laws and court decisions that govern wrongful death claims. We help families obtain closure by obtaining the compensation that a deceased family member would have wanted the family to have.

Wrongful Death Claims in San Francisco

Only certain family members are entitled to make a wrongful death claim in California. Spouses and registered domestic partners can always make a claim. Living children and the surviving children of any child who died before the victim can also bring a claim.

Under some circumstances, siblings, parents, and other family members can participate in a wrongful death claim. The victim's estate can also make a separate claim for compensation if the victim experienced pain and suffering before dying.

In most cases, the claim must be settled or a lawsuit must be filed within two years after the date of the victim's death. After that time passes, the right to obtain compensation may be lost.

Compensation for Wrongful Death in San Francisco

Compensation for a wrongful death includes the financial and nonfinancial contributions the accident victim would have made to the family if the victim had not died. Financial contributions include earnings and gifts that would have been shared with family members.

Nonfinancial contributions include the value of services the victim would have provided, such as mowing the lawn, etc. Family members are also entitled to compensation for the companionship and guidance that the victim would have given them.

Attorney Michael Rehm - (415) 230-2346

Southern California Areas Served:

Phone: (619) 787-3456 Areas Served: San Diego, Vista, Chula Vista, El Cajon, Escondido, San Marcos, Oceanside, Carlsbad, Encinitas, El Centro, Los Angeles, Long Beach, Santa Clarita, Glendale, Lancaster, Palmdale, Pomona, Torrance, Pasadena, El Monte, Downey, West Covina, Norwalk, Burbank, Anaheim, Santa Ana, Irvine, Huntington Beach, Garden Grove, Costa Mesa, Riverside, Corona, Moreno Valley, Ontario, Rancho Cucamonga, San Bernardino, Santa Barbara, Santa Maria, Ventura, Simi Valley, Thousand Oaks, San Luis Obispo, Paso Robles, Temecula, Bakersfield, Clovis, and everywhere in between.

Bay Area Areas Served

Phone: (831) 431-0986 Areas Served: Santa Cruz, Aptos, Capitola, Watsonville, Salinas, Monterey, Seaside, Carmel, San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Hayward, Berkeley, Livermore, Concord, Richmond, Walnut Creek, Antioch, San Rafael, Novato, San Jose, Morgan Hill, Sunnyvale, Santa Clara, Palo Alto, Cupertino, Gilroy, Los Gatos, Napa, Santa Rosa, Petaluma, Fairfield, Vallejo, Vacaville, Dixon, Solano County, San Benito, Daly City, San Mateo, South San Francisco, Redwood City, Belmont, San Carlos, San Bruno, Pleasanton, Union City, San Leandro, Milpitas, Pittsburg, Danville, Rohnert Park and the entire Bay Area.

Northern California Office & Areas Served

333 University Avenue; Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95825 Phone: (916) 233-7346 Areas Served: Sacramento, Elk Grove, Antelope, Citrus Heights, Carmichael, the friendly confines of Land Park, Folsom, Yolo, Woodland, West Sacramento, Davis, Placerville, South Lake Tahoe, Cameron Park, El Dorado Hills, Auburn, Roseville, Rocklin, Lincoln, Yuba City, Marysville, Wheatland, Colusa, San Joaquin County, Lodi, Manteca, Stockton, Tracy, Lathrop, Modesto, Turlock, Oakdale, Stanislaus County, Humboldt County, Arcata, Mckinleyville, Fortuna, Eureka, Butte County, Oroville, Paradise, Chico, Mendocino, Ukiah, Colusa, Shasta County, Redding, Calaveras, Yreka, Amador, Jackson, Lassen, Susanville, Plumas County, Quincy, Nevada County, Grass Valley, Nevada City, Truckee, Lakeport, Sonora, Madera, Crescent City, Trinity, and all of Northern California.